10 Best Benchtop Jointers 2020

If you are searching for a benchtop jointer you already know how important it is when woodworking that the wood is as smooth and as straight as possible. Therefore it’s important that you find one that suits your needs.

There are so many out there to choose from though, which one do you go for? Thankfully we are here to help. We have gotten our hands on 10 of the top benchtop jointers on the market. We then tested them and compiled the top picks into this list. We even included a buying guide to help you in your search for the right one.

10 Best Benchtop Jointers 2020

1. Cutech 40160H-CT Benchtop Jointer – Best Overall

Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: September 13, 2020 4:32 pm

The Cutech 40160H-CT was our top pick and the best benchtop jointer we reviewed. Using spiral rutters rather than the typical helical. When the product arrived, we had it up and running within 30 minutes, we set up the aluminum fence and cleaned the packaging oil off and away we went.

We were surprised at just how smooth a finish it was producing, better than anything else on the market. Its light and is quieter than most of the other benchtop jointers ideal for the home consumer. It had been very easy to completely clean specifically with paired with an excellent VAC, you’ll be working mess-free of charge. The only issue we’d was with woods such as for example hard maple, while we could actually cut it, the engine obviously slowed down, so you need to be cautious with harder woods never to damage the blades.

2. Delta 37-071 6-Inch Benchtop Jointer

$317.31 in stock
4 new from $317.31
Free shipping
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: September 13, 2020 4:32 pm

This benchtop jointer is a significant bit of kit. Among the first issues, you will notice may be the sheer pounds of it. It is because of the long-lasting cast-iron utilized for the many parts. This escalates the weight rendering it more steady as you feed wooden through, this decreases vibrations and means greater results. This was most likely the greatest benchtop jointer for harder woods due to this. We also like how easy it had been to regulate the blade program, this can help get the perfect finish on your wood.

The one serious criticism we had for this product was the manual provided. It was not the best and even with our experience, we had trouble working out how to get this jointer operational, because of this it can’t take the top spot. Still a great benchtop jointer for the money.

3. PORTER-CABLE PC160JT Benchtop Jointer – Best Value

$325.54 in stock
3 new from $322.05
Free shipping
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: September 13, 2020 4:32 pm

This benchtop jointer is like the Cutech in many ways, though we noticed several cost-cutting measures taken by Porter-Cable that is reflected in the price. Like the Cutech, the jointer was very easy to put together. A great feature that this jointer had that none of the others had was variable speed functionality. This allows you to get the best setting for a piece of wood. Slower for more pliable and faster for your harder woods – this helps you produce fantastic results.

We did have problems getting the fence to sit 90 degrees from the desk. The fence seems flimsy, so you should be careful with just how much pressure you placed on to the. We were actually impressed at how this jointer performed as of this price level. For all of us, this was the very best value benchtop jointer.

4. Aircraft JJP-8BT 8” Jointer/Planer Combo

$520.99 in stock
3 new from $479.99
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: September 13, 2020 4:32 pm

The Jet JJP-8BT is a lot more than only a benchtop jointer, it serves double-duty as a planer aswell. With a robust three-horsepower, 13-amp engine spinning two high-speed metal knives, it carves clean edges effortlessly. 18,000-CPM isn’t the very best in course, but it’s not significantly behind. The 8-in . maximum panel width that benchtop unit could work with is a very important factor that attracted us to this right away. For the purchase price and the size, that is a great feature for anybody who works together with wider boards.

Upon arrival, we found that the majority of the bolts keeping everything collectively were loose. After going right through the device tightening everything, we noticed that the infeed and outfeed tables don’t quite line up properly. We fiddled with it for a while and we got pretty close, but never quite coplanar. Despite these issues, we were satisfied with the operation of the machine overall. There is one more complaint though. The dust collection port is usually plastic and sits below the tables, but it’s prone to cracking from the pressure. This is a design flaw, and one of the things holding this benchtop jointer back.

5. RIKON 20-600H 6” Benchtop Jointer

$449.00 $449.99 in stock
3 new from $449.00
Free shipping
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: September 13, 2020 4:32 pm

RIKON has built a very stout tool in the 20-600H benchtop jointer. The five-year warranty that’s included with this model shows just how much the manufacturer believes in the longevity of their product. While we do believe this little jointer will last for a long time, it has some drawbacks and oversights that prevent it from being among our favorites. Let’s focus on the fence. When you have it positioned properly and head to lock it set up, it movements out of square, ruining your measurement. This is more than slightly frustrating as we continuing using this jointer.

There exists a dust collection port within the blades which is nice. Having said that, it clogs easily in the event that you don’t have vacuum pressure installed and running as the machine is used. At 10 amps, it’s not really the most effective motor and it could only use boards up to 6 in. wide. Despite these restrictions, its dependability earns an area on this list.

6. Woodtek 6” Bench Top Jointer

$385.19 in stock
1 new from $385.19
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: September 13, 2020 4:32 pm

At 1.5 HP, the Woodtek 115955 benchtop jointer isn’t the most effective on the market. Actually, the 15,000-CPM maximum speed of the jointer may be the lowest upon this list. It doesn’t move as quickly as competing versions, but it did keep clean edges. The straight blades aren’t the most efficient either.

What this model lacks in power, it makes up in portability. At only 42 pounds, it’s one of the lightest and most portable models available. It’s also priced rather modestly, so most people can afford to get started. We did like this unit overall, but even though it has some upsides, the lack of power means there are better choices at the price.

7. Shop Fox W1829 Benchtop-Jointer

$307.48 $335.00 in stock
6 new
1 used from $309.99
Free shipping
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: September 13, 2020 4:32 pm

Priced very economically intended for the budget-conscious hobbyist, the Shop Fox W1829 benchtop jointer is a powerful machine that suffers from poor quality control. The 12-amp motor can push 10,000 RPM and 20,000 CPM even though it’s only 1 1.5-HP. Those are respectable numbers at any price point. Tables and fences are made of cast iron, a feature that we were initially excited about. To our dismay, we discovered that they just don’t line up properly. No matter what we tried we couldn’t get them completely coplanar.

The biggest drawbacks of this tool involve the fence. Although the device is effective, the fence doesn’t stay place, which means that your faces don’t turn out quite straight. Even while tight simply because the screws keeping it set up would move, the fence would still migrate during passes. If it weren’t because of this major concern, the Shop Fox will be getting a higher recommendation.

8. Grizzly Industrial 6”x 28” Jointer

$367.95 in stock
2 new from $367.95
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: September 13, 2020 4:32 pm

At a hefty 80 pounds, the Grizzly Industrial G0725 is one benchtop jointer that you’re most likely not heading to want to go around. Of training course, that fat also helps maintain it stable and reduce vibrations. With 20,000-CPM speed features, the Grizzly certainly packs sufficient power. The cast iron desk was among the features we had been worked up about until we understood that the table wasn’t quite flat. Ours had a high spot in the middle that threw everything off.

Upon receiving this jointer, we noticed that the blade locking screws were over-tightened. Attempting to loosen them caused quite a few to strip. We weren’t off to a great start. After messing with that for a bit, we got everything ready to work. When it started up, we were quite satisfied with how this machine slice. What really held it back though was the migrating fence that refused to stay put. The rise in the table also prevented our material from pushing through efficiently. Disappointing indeed. For the price, we’d recommend something that will give you fewer headaches and more work time.

9. WEN 6560 Jointer (Benchtop Model)

Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: September 13, 2020 4:32 pm

This WEN benchtop jointer was priced quite a bit higher than its competitors, so we hoped to see some stellar performance. While the 20,000-CPM overall performance of the motor and blades was up to par, the overall construction had not been. It felt nice initially. Eighty pounds is quite stout for a benchtop device, but it additionally lends a sense of robustness.

First, we noticed the fence was twisted. This avoided it from being really square in virtually any position. When looking to get the infeed and outfeed tables coplanar, we found that the outfeed desk isn’t adjustable. And in addition, this makes it a lot tougher to obtain the tables to meet properly. As of this high cost, we wouldn’t be prepared to see these sorts of problems. While it does trim clean, flat plank faces, we’d recommend conserving your money and deciding on a jointer with higher-quality elements.

Tags:

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply